The word 'Sacrament' comes from the Latin 'to make sacred or holy'. Sacraments are signs through which Jesus Christ is real and present. In each of the seven sacraments it is Jesus Christ who is present and active. They are signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church. They touch all stages of and all the important moments of the Christian's life of faith.

  • In the Sacrament of Baptism it is Jesus who baptises and empowers the newly baptised Christian with the grace of the Holy Spirit in the action of the priest.
  • In the Sacrament of Eucharist it is Jesus who transforms bread and wine into his own body and blood and who nourishes the person - the one who receives.
  • In the Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation it is Jesus who in the ministering by the priest  welcomes, forgives and empowers the repentant sinner.
  • In the Sacrament of Confirmation it is the Holy Spirit present and active who empowers the one who has made a firm decision to follow the way of Christ.
  • In the Sacrament of Matrimony it is Christ who joins into a permanent union the couple committing to be for one another the love that God is.
  • In the Sacrament of Holy Orders in which a man is ordained a priest, it is Jesus who ordains through the action of the Holy Spirit in the person of the Bishop.
  • In the Sacrament of the Sick it is Jesus who anoints and heals.

The Sacraments of Initiation are;

  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Eucharist

The Sacraments of Healing are;

  • Penance & Reconciliation
  • Anointing of the Sick.

The Sacraments at the Service of Communion are;

  • Holy Orders
  • Matrimony

The sanctuary of St. Macartan's Cathedral was redesigned to emphasise the sacramental life of the Church. From the north to the south transepts various chapels represent each of the seven Sacraments.

North Transept:

  • the Chapel of the Holy Oils contains three vessels of sacramental oil:

1. Oil of Catechumen for Baptism

2. Oil of Chrism for Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Orders

3. Oil of the Sick (Infirmorum) for the Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

  • the Baptistery Chapel for Christenings

Main Sanctuary:

  • the table of the Eucharist
  • the table of the Word
  • the Bishop's Chair representing Holy Orders

The South Transept:

  • the Blessed Sacrament Chapel
  • the Chapel of Reconciliation